Don’t Call it a Church

iamwayJust because you attach the label “church” to something doesn’t make it so.  There is a “church” in Boulder, CO called the Hell Yeah Church.  No I am not kidding.  they even have a website so they’re legit, right?  Hardly.  In the day and age we live in, that’s just what we need.  A church where nothing is preached, there is no right or wrong, no absolute truth, and of course – no judgment.  Now I am not in favor of legalism, or truth spoken apart from love, but you’ve got to be kidding me.  This church meets in a bar, and I think that’s a creative way to reach people with the Gospel of Christ. But there’s none of that Gospel stuff going on at that place.

One person that has attended since the “Church’s” inception, commented about the music saying, ” I think that it [the music] helps you stay aligned with your vision and stay in touch with who you are — your basic goodness and connection with the whole,” Wolf said. “It takes you higher out of your funk, out of the conventional view of reality.” Basic goodness??? Did I miss something? Did someone take the part out of the bible that says, “There is none good, not even a single, solitary person.”

I’m reminded of Paul’s words to Timothy that are so appropriate when we have preachers, ministers, and so called men and women of God teaching that right and wrong is based on a measure of how you feel. That’s pure garbage. “For the time will come when they will not endure sound doctrine; but wanting to have their ears tickled, they will accumulate for themselves teachers in accordance to their own desires, and will turn away their ears from the truth and will turn aside to myths.” (2 Timothy 4:3-4)

Maybe you’re thinking I’m being too harsh. On what she speaks about, the “Pastor” said,”I don’t go into Jesus and I don’t go into God,” Stansfield said. “I call it consciousness — but you can call it Jesus, you can call it Buddha, it is whatever you would like it to be. I think we are all coming from the same place of consciousness. It is what makes the sun come up, it’s what makes the flowers bloom, it’s the life force that gives us breath.”

I call it heresy. I call it animal excrement.

2 thoughts on “Don’t Call it a Church

  1. I have heard this “schpeel” before!!
    It really is sickening to know that so many people are being so deceived. I agree with your sentiments entirely!!

Leave a Reply

