Just Enough

In the August issue of the Voice of the Martyrs magazine, I read a quote from Wilbur Rees that says, “I would like to buy three dollars worth of God, please, not enough to explode my soul or disturb my sleep, but just enough to equal a cup of warm milk or a snooze in the sunshine. I don’t want enough of Him to make me love a black man or pick beets with a migrant. I want ecstasy, not transformation; I want the warmth of the womb, not a new birth. I want a pound of the Eternal in a paper sack. I would like to buy three dollars worth of God, please.”

Isn’t that our attitude? I’ll be a fanatic about my kids, my family, my spouse, my college, my team, my driver, and even my church, but Jesus!! Come on, that’s radical. Give me just enough Jesus to get by; just enough to get to heaven, but not too much that I can’t enjoy the things I enjoy.

There are lots of men and women out there who get it. They understand the mission of the church and they understand their part in it. Christians in China get it. The Voice of the Martyrs says, that China’s “Central Propaganda Department (CPD) exists to ensure that its citizens receive only the information they want them to receive.” Does that stop our Chinese Christian brothers and sisters? No. Would it stop an American? That’s a question each individual Christian must ask himself. I have my opinions based on observation.

IMG_0477If you’re a Christian, I want you to think about your friends. Do have any friends that are not Christians? I’m sure you know some folks that aren’t Christians, but do you ever have coffee with them? Eat lunch with them? Have a cook out? I think you get my point. If you are going to display the love of Christ to a lost and dying world, you have to get out there. Go to where people already hang out and strike up a conversation. Help someone get their stuff in the car at Walmart. Talk to the person sitting next to you at the beach. Talk to the person in line in front and behind you. Grab a jump rope.

There are lots of opportunities out there if we’ll only pay attention. That’s the hard part. We have to pay attention. We are so wrapped up in our own lives that we cannot see what is happening all around us. It’s time to start looking at life through the lens of eternity.

Leave a Reply

