Distracted

I picked up this blog post this morning and thought I’d share it. You can follow the original blogger here. I don’t know the blogger personally, but I think she provides some insight that few people recognize. Give it a read. I plan on giving my views of this real issue next week.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

Last night my husband and I had an in depth discussion about the following picture:

equal sign

Many opinions were discussed. None of which I will share. Neither of us care to publicly enter any debate.

It dawned on me as I could not sleep last night where the real issue is. Regardless of your opinion on gay rights (positive, negative, or indifferent), there is a larger issue at hand.

Today is Wednesday, March 27th. Tomorrow is Thursday. About 2000 years ago, on that Thursday Jesus sat down for his last meal with his closest friends. One turned on him that night (Matt. 26:14-16, 25). Another claimed he would die with Jesus, only to deny he even knew him in the next few hours (Matt. 26:31-35). That Thursday night and into Friday morning, Jesus was betrayed, arrested, denied, endured trials, and sentenced to death (Matt. 26:47-27:26). Friday he was mocked, tortured, and crucified (Matt. 27:27-44). Matthew 27:50 tells us that he “gave up His Spirit”. For every flawed person who would ever walk the earth. Especially you. You who grew up in church. You who have never been to church. You who sit in the pew every week. You who mock the very One who created you. You, the imperfect one.

This Friday is called Good Friday, because we remember what God did for us by sacrificing His Son upon that cross. But do you remember? Or are you still trying to figure out who’s right and wrong on that legal issue?

Well played, Satan. Well played. You dangled the bait (and we all took it) for believers and nonbelievers/ believers and believers/ nonbelievers and nonbelievers to turn on each other, draw lines, AND DISTRACT EVERYONE FROM THE GOSPEL. You made it as simple as posting a picture on a social media site to make everyone lose focus of what this week is really about.

PS-for the end of the story, see Matthew 28.

 

************Update (3/28)**************

WOW! I never in my life imagined I would write a blog post that would be viewed by over 80,000 people around the world in a 24 hour period!  For the moment, I have turned off the ability to comment. The number of comments was quite overwhelming. I read every comment and approve each one (whether you agree with me or not) so long as it’s not profanity-laced. If you already left a comment, I promise I will read it and get caught up soon. I appreciate you taking the time to read my blog even if you disagree with me.

The marriage issue before the courts is EXTREMELY important to all of us. It might not have distracted you this week, but honestly, it distracted me. There are all kinds of issues (public and private) that happen that distract us from focusing on God. I hope no matter what is happening in your life this week (and every week) and no matter where you stand that it will not keep you from remembering how much God loves you! Happy Easter!

Leave a Reply

